This project was made possible by USDA Iowa Rural Director Bill Menner and Grant Manager Sheila Woollard in the Des Moines office. The successful application was informed by Community Foundation for Appalachian Ohio leader Cara Brook. The CFGD commitment to strengthening rural communities was born in 2004 under the leadership of President and CEO Nancy Van Milligen and the original board of directors and has been continually held up as an integral part of the Foundation’s mission.

CFGD Staff Advisors

Amy Manternach and Jason Neises, Monticello, IA

Corrine Kroger, Edgewood & Jackson County, IA

Mary Jo Gothard, Jackson County, IA

Kari McCann and MJ Smith, Harpers Ferry, IA & Jo Daviess County, IL

Jenna Manders, Reporting

Hillary Baker and Kristine Jubeck, Communications

Jon Aguilar, Philanthropic Tools Storyteller & Communications

Special thanks to our partners at Union-Hoermann Printing in Dubuque.

In appreciation, on behalf of the communities we are privileged to serve

MJ Smith, Project Leader

Director of Affiliate Foundations, Community Foundation of
Greater Dubuque